Surviving Twin Peaks


Well, the big plan at the Easter weekend was to get through all 30 episodes of Twin Peaks. It didn’t seem like such a tough challenge at the time. However, I made it as far as episode 13, Demons, then had a call a halt to the experiment.

The first season was actually really good, and seemed to have a larger budget for outdoor shooting, which made the whole show seem more expansive. There’s also absolutely nothing wrong with Agent Dale Cooper and his quirky approach to investigation techniques. He’s actually the only reason we kept watching as long as we did.

For a while, it was a great ride. I loved the OCD stacking of donuts, the strangely chic dancing by adult straight men, the oddness of the town did draw me in at first. But, it was also its worst feature. Because it’s not the early 1990s anymore, and the soap opera elements began to stink. Also the music really started to grate. The cheesy acting went from endearing to relentlessly bad. It seemed that, after the terrifying references and appearances of Bob, and the mystery surrounding Laura Palmer’s murder, things sort of slowed. Right. Down.

It was the third full day of watching Twin Peaks when we cracked. I’m sorry, I will continue trying to complete the show, one at a time, with breathing space inbetween. But this weekend, meant for relaxation, was probably not the ideal time to race through 150 hours of a show created by David Lynch.

I read around it, and it just didn’t sustain the weirdness long enough. I’m pretty sure there’s some good stuff coming, but again, we’d reached our Twin Peaks saturation point by midday Saturday.

Also, we’d run out of Tunnock’s Caramel logs. Disaster!

We ended up watching all of Season 1 of Breaking Bad, and most of Season 2 instead, and actually LEAVING THE HOUSE once or twice. Then it rained over the entirety of Bank Holiday Monday. But that was OK, too, by then, mental balance had been restored.

I definitely think I’ll return to Twin Peaks, and before the year is out as well. This exercise has proved that, watched in a lump, one after the other, the show is just not that interesting. Or maybe I’m missing something. I know the show had some problems in Season 2, and that’s a pity as well.

I still love Agent Cooper, and can’t emphasise that enough. I’m also grateful that this show opened a door to quirky in everything from the X-Files to Buffy. Spotting Scully’s Dad in this was a treat and I still haven’t seen Mulder in Peaks yet, so I will be going back for that!

Instead, I got on with other writing, reading and capturing the last of the weekend. Lesson learned. Normal service will resume this week on the Haunted Eyeball.

3 thoughts on “Surviving Twin Peaks

  1. GIRL! I could have told you that and I am a HUGE ASS Twin Peaks fan! We have the special edition they finally put out with the original Pilot too! I know the MacLachlan clan actually, grew up with his younger brothers and used to watch Kyle in plays! OH how the mighty have. gotten MIGHTIER! ANYWAY maybe we can WATCH together one day and TWEET RIFFs about the log lady hehehe and PIE!

    • Hehe, well, I had to find out for myself, I guess. It’s shown on all those clip shows, I wanted to see what it was like. Can’t believe you know the Agent Cooper family, tho *awed* and it was great to see him in a show where he wasn’t being all dour and uptight. Also loved that log lady, will coordinate watching the last few episodes with you at some point, hehe. So at what point does the show get good again??

      • I loved ALL of it, but I am a fangirl. I grew up where it was shot! Downtown Seattle for the most part, but the lodge is in Snoqualmie Falls, WA

Leave a Reply

